2 School Records Go Down; Iowa Finishes 7th

March 2, 2013

Complete Results

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. — The University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team posted two school records and nine NCAA `B’ qualifying times to finish seventh overall at the Big Ten Championships.

Iowa finished the championship with 245 points. Michigan won the team title with 899 points, followed by Indiana (664) and Ohio State (470).

Junior Andrew Marciniak broke the school record in the 200 breast during the morning prelims (1:56.54) to advance to the `A’ final. During the night cap, Marciniak swam a time of 1:56.62 to finish eighth overall. His time is an NCAA `B’ cut.

Freshman Roman Trussov swam an NCAA `B’ qualifying time while winning the 200 breast `C’ final (1:55.84) to finish 17th overall. His time ranks second in school history.

Senior Byron Butler notched a school record in winning the 200 back `B’ final, touching the wall in 1:43.59, an NCAA `B’ mark. Junior Dustin Rhoads, sophomore Grant Betulius, and freshman Andrew Parker also posted NCAA `B’ times in the 200 back “B” final. Rhoads finished 12th (1:44.85), Betulius was 14th (1:44.94), and Parker finished 16th (1:46.86).

Junior Tyler Lentz collected an NCAA `B’ qualifying time in the 200 fly `B’ final. The junior touched the wall in 1:47.53 to finish 15th.

Junior Manuel Belzer posted an NCAA `B’ qualifying time in the 1,650 free final, finishing with a time of 15:20.30 to finish 18th. Junior Gianni Sesto swam a time of 45.43 to finish 24th in the 100 freestyle “C” final.

The Hawkeyes concluded the championships with a seventh place finish in the 400-free relay final. Sophomore Brian Donatelli, Huff, Betulius, and freshman David Ernstsson swam a time of 2:56.07, a time that ranks eighth in the record books.

Iowa will return to action March 11-13 when Addison Boschult travels to Houston to compete in the NCAA Zone D Diving meet.