Drake, Dunn Earn Award

April 19, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior student-athletes Garret Dunn and Sarah Drake recently received the Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award at the 2013 Finkbine Dinner earlier this month. The award, which is named after a former dean and longtime UI faculty representative to the Big Ten Conference, is annually presented by the UI President’s Committee on Athletics (PCA) to a male and female student athlete who demonstrates outstanding academic and athletic excellence and leadership.

Dunn, a native of Tempe, Ariz., is a four-year letterwinner for the Hawkeye men’s tennis team. He has a career singles record of 36-44 and a career doubles mark of 49-51. In 2012, Dunn was named team captain and earned the Tyler Cleveland Most Valuable Player award at the conclusion of the season. A two-time academic all-Big Ten honoree, Dunn was named a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar award winner in 2012. He boasts a 3.99 grade-point average with double majors in finance and accounting. In 2011, he was admitted into the competitive Hawkinson Institute of Finance within the UI’s Tippie College of Business. The Institute accepts the top 20 undergraduate students each fall on the basis of academic performance, leadership, professional potential and interpersonal skills. Dunn currently serves as chair of the Iowa Student Athlete Advisory Committee (ISAAC) and previously served as Life Skills Committee Chair.

Senior Sarah Drake

Drake started all 77 games she played in for the Hawkeye field hockey team. The forward from Ann Arbor, Mich., tallied 50 points and 22 goals during her career. A two-time Longstreth/NFHCA West Region All-American, Drake was selected to the 2012 Midwest Senior High Performance team. She earned a spot on the USA U21 Junior National and Midwest Junior High Performance teams in 2011. Drake was a three-time selection for the Junior National Team Camp, and was chosen for the Midwest High Performance Tournament Team at the USA National Championships in 2010. A four-year field hockey letterwinner, Drake is a three-time All-Big Ten and academic All-Big Ten honoree and a four-time NFHCA National academic squad member. She earned a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar award last year.