Pair of Hawkeyes Earn All-Region Honors

May 29, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa men’s golfers Steven Ihm and Joseph Winslow were named to the Division I PING All-Midwest Regional Team, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Tuesday.

“All-Region is an award based on Steven and Joseph’s ranking and competition versus the Midwest Region this year,” said head coach Mark Hankins. “They both had excellent spring seasons and beat a lot of good players to earn this award. Congratulations to both on this accolade and their individual success in 2012-13.”

Ihm, a junior hailing from Peosta, Iowa, becomes a two-time all-regional honoree. He kept a 72.28 regular season stroke average, which ranked third best in program history. The first team All-Big Ten selection led the Hawkeyes in eight of 10 stroke play tournaments, secured four top-10 finishes and played 15 rounds at or below par. Ihm twice earned co-medalist honors in the spring, winning the Hawkeye-Great River Entertainment Invitational (211/-5) and the Boilermaker Invitational (211/-5) to become the first Hawkeye to win back-to-back tournaments since 1970.

Ihm recently earned a sponsor’s exemption into the PGA TOUR’s John Deere Classic. The tournament runs from July 8-14 at the Tournament Players Club Deere Run in Silvis, Ill.

Winslow was a second team All-Big Ten selection and was named to the All-Big Ten Championship Team this season as a sophomore. His 73.48 stroke average ranked 10th best in program history. The Overland Park, Kan., native totaled two top-10 finishes, five top-20 finishes and played 11 rounds at or below par. Winslow tallied back-to-back top-five finishes, placing fourth at the Boilermaker Invitational (216/E) and fifth at the Big Ten Championships (292/+4).

Ihm and Winslow led the Hawkeyes to an NCAA Regional berth, marking the program’s fifth consecutive NCAA postseason appearance. Since 2009, Iowa’s had 12 players named to the all-regional team.

A total of 155 players across six regions – Northeast, East, Southeast, Midwest, Central and West – earned all-region honors in 2013.