Iowa, B1G Announce 2015 Football Schedule

June 3, 2013

2014, 2015 Iowa Football Schedules

PARK RIDGE, Ill. — The Big Ten office announced the conference schedule for the 2015 football season today, as approved by the Big Ten Directors of Athletics. The 2015 schedule consists of eight games for each of the Big Ten’s 14 teams.

Iowa’s Big Ten schedule includes homes game against Illinois, Purdue, Minnesota and Maryland. Iowa plays its first Big Ten home game Oct. 10, hosting Illinois. The Fighting Illini will be making their first appearance in Kinnick Stadium since 2007 (a 10-6 Iowa win).

Maryland will make its first appearance ever in Kinnick Stadium on Oct. 31. The Hawkeyes and Terrapins will meet for the first time ever at Maryland in 2014. The Hawkeyes host Minnesota on Nov. 14 and Purdue the following weekend (Nov. 21) to close the home season. Maryland and Indiana are Iowa’s non-division opponents for the second straight season.

The Hawkeyes travel to Wisconsin (Oct. 3) to open Big Ten play. Additional road games include Northwestern, Indiana and Nebraska. The regular season finale at Nebraska will once again be played the day after Thanksgiving (Friday, Nov. 27). Iowa travels to Northwestern (Oct. 17) before the only open week on the schedule and plays at Indiana Nov. 7.

Iowa opens the 2015 season by hosting Illinois State on Sept. 5. The Hawkeyes then travel to Iowa State the following weekend for the annual edition of the Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series. Additional non-conference opponents are Pittsburgh and North Texas, with both of those teams visiting Kinnick Stadium.

Beginning in 2014, the Big Ten football division alignments will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers in the East Division, and Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin in the West Division. Each school will play the other six schools in its division plus two teams from the other division in 2014 and 2015, which will serve as transitional years in which the schools will still be playing eight-game schedules. Beginning in 2016, each school will play three teams from the other division as part of its nine-game schedule. The cross-division games will include one protected matchup on an annual basis between Indiana and Purdue.

The Big Ten will hold the 2013 Football Media Days and 42nd annual Kickoff Luncheon on Wednesday and Thursday, July 24 and 25, at the Hilton Chicago, featuring all 12 head coaches and some of the nation’s top returning players. The 118th season of Big Ten football kicks off Thursday, Aug. 29, and culminates with the third annual Big Ten Football Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 7. The winner of the title game will earn the Big Ten Championship and a chance to play in either the Rose Bowl Game or Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game.

2015 Iowa Football Schedule:
Sept. 5 Illinois State
Sept. 12 at Iowa State
Sept. 19 Pittsburgh
Sept. 26 North Texas
Oct. 3 at Wisconsin*
Oct. 10 Illinois*
Oct. 17 at Northwestern*
Oct. 24 Open
Oct. 31 Maryland
Nov. 7 at Indiana
Nov. 14 Minnesota*
Nov. 21 Purdue*
Nov. 27 at Nebraska*
* – Divisional game