Fiedorowicz and Weisman Earn Spots on CFPA Watch List

June 10, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa student-athletes C.J. Fiedorowicz and Mark Weisman have been named to the 2013 College Football Performance Awards Watch List, the CFPA announced recently. Weisman earned a spot on the 2013 CFPA Running Back Trophy Watch List, while Fiedorowicz was named to the Tight End Trophy Watch List.

“Congratulations to Mark Weisman and C.J. Fiedorowicz on earning spots on the 2013 CFPA Offensive Awards Watch List,” said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. “Coach Kirk Ferentz has an outstanding running back and tight end at his disposal for the 2013 season.”

Fiedorowicz, a senior hailing from Johnsburg, Ill., was an honorable mention All-Big Ten selection by the coaches and media last season. He hauled in 45 receptions for 433 yards and a touchdown in 2012. Fiedorowicz started all 12 games last season, and has made 17 consecutive starts.

Weisman, a native of Buffalo Grove, Ill., ranked ninth in the Big Ten in rushing yards per game (81.5) in 2012 as a sophomore. He totaled 815 yards on the ground, with 5.1 yards per carry, and found pay dirt eight times. Weisman rushed for 217 yards on 27 carries against Central Michigan, which tied as the eight best single-game rushing total in school history. Weisman was an Academic All-Big Ten selection in 2012.

Former Hawkeye defensive lineman Adrian Clayborn earned the CFPA National Defensive Player of the Year Trophy in 2009.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

The full list of 2013 CFPA recipients will be announced on January 8, 2014.