Morris Named to Nagurski Watch List

July 11, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior linebacker James Morris has been named to the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given to the National Defensive Player of the Year, as selected by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). Morris is one of 27 linebackers named to the list. In addition, 28 linemen and 26 defensive backs were also selected.

A National Defensive Player of the Year has been named by the FWAA since 1993. The FWAA will select a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday of the season, and if the honored player is not on the watch list at that time, they will be added. Players can also be removed from the list during the season.

Morris has been a starting linebacker for the Hawkeyes since his true freshman season in 2010. Last season, he ranked third in the Big Ten and 31st in the nation in tackles per game (9.4). He ranks 16th in career tackles (293). He was named a Permanent Team Captain in 2012 while earning the Hayden Fry “Extra Heartbeat” Award and the Players Choice Award on defense. Morris earned honorable mention All-Big Ten honors as a sophomore and junior after being named Freshman All-America by as a freshman.

Morris earned CoSIDA/Capital One District VI Academic All-America honors in 2012 and is a two-time academic All-Big Ten honoree.

The native of Solon, Iowa, is also on the Bednarik Award, Lott Impact Trophy and College Football Performance Awards Linebacker watch lists for this season.

At the end of the college football regular season, the FWAA All-America Committee will select a 25-man All-America Team, as voted on by all of the association’s members. The 1,300 member association consists of men and women who work as journalists, broadcasters, publicists and executives in areas that associate with college football.

Five finalists for the Nagurski trophy will be chosen on Nov. 21 from the 25-man All-America team, and the winner will be announced on Dec. 9, at the annual Bronko Nagurski Banquet in Charlotte, N.C.

Iowa opens the 2013 season against Northern Illinois Aug. 31 at Kinnick Stadium. Kickoff is 2:30 p.m. (BTN).