Freshmen Impress at Black and Gold Intrasquad

Dec. 7, 2013

Photo Gallery

Complete Results

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa track and field team kicked off the indoor season Saturday with the Black and Gold Intrasquad at the UI Recreation Building. The Black squad won the event scoring 115 points, while the gold team came in second with 100.

Senior Ethan Holmes, freshman Aaron Mallett, and junior Keith Brown competed in a tight 60-meter hurdles race. Holmes took the title when he crossed the line in 7.95. Mallet followed close behind, finishing second with a time of 8.00. Keith Brown finished third with a time of 8.21.

“Overall, I was really happy with the competitiveness of our athletes,” said Director of Track and Field Larry Wieczorek. “We know about our veterans, but to see some of our new competitors come in here and compete fiercely against the veterans was really exciting. It was a terrific start to the season.”

Senior Zinnia Miller clocked a time of 7.85 to win the women’s 60 meters. Senior Tevin-Cee Mincy (6.86) and freshman Vinnie Saucer (6.87) finished second and third, respectively, in the men’s 60 meters.

Jared Ganschow took the title in the men’s 300 meters. The freshman clocked a time of 35.12. Sophomore Lake Kwaza finished first in the women’s race when she recorded a time of 38.97.

Sophomores MonTayla Holder and Neil Flattery captured the men’s and women’s 600 meters titles. Holder crossed the line in 1:34.78, while Flattery clocked a time of 1:20.15.

Freshmen Kevin Docherty and Katharina Trost recored first-place finishes in the mile. Docherty clocked a time of 4:18.53, while Trost crossed the line in 4:59.23.

Freshmen Mallet, Ganshow, Nick Jensen, and sophomore Brendan Thompson clocked a time of 3:20.19 to take the title in the men’s 1,600-meter relay. Freshman Alexis Hernandez, Mahnee Watts, Elexis Guster, and Sydney Keith won the women’s 1,600-meter relay. The quartet clocked a time of 3:56.66.

Watts also competed in the women’s 1,000 meters. The freshman posted a time of 2:53.02 to finish just behind former Iowa All-American Bethany Praska (2:45.65).

O’Shea Wilson took the men’s long jump title in his Hawkeye debut. The freshman recorded a leap of 23-0 ½ (7.02m). Senior Carisa Leacock finished first in the women’s event when she posted a leap of 17-11 ¾ (5.48m).

Sophomore Kevin Spejcher and junior Khanishah Williams earned first-place finishes in the high jump. Spejcher cleared the 6-7 ¾ (2.03m), while Williams cleared a height of 5-10 (1.78m).

Junior Gabe Hull and senior Ashlyn Gulvas each earned titles in the weight throw. Hull captured the men’s title when he recorded a toss of 59-9 (18.21m), while Gulvas won the women’s event with a toss of 60-3 ¼ (18.37m).

Senior Drew Clark won the men’s shot put competition. Clark recorded a toss of 55-8 ¼ (16.97m) in his Hawkeye track and field debut. Rachel Curry won the women’s event. The senior posted a mark of 46-1 ¼ (14.05m).

Seniors Kyle Reid and Jack Eckert went head-to-head in the men’s pole vault. Reid took the title when he cleared the 15-11 ¾ (4.87m), while Eckert came in second with a vault of 14-0 (4.27m).

“I thought we had some outstanding competition against ourselves,” said head coach Layne Anderson. “That is not always an easy thing to do. We have young and talented newcomers. I think we saw them really step up today in their first opportunity to wear the black and gold. It has the potential to be an exciting 2014.”

The Hawkeye track and field team officially opens the indoor season Jan. 18 hosting the Big Four Classic.