White, Marble Earn All-Big Ten Honors

March 10, 2014

2014 All-Big Ten Honorees

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior guard Roy Devyn Marble has been named first-team All-Big Ten by conference head coaches and media, while junior forward Aaron White earned third team recognition on each of the two squads. The teams were announced by the Big Ten Conference Monday on the BTN’s annual show revealing the all-conference teams and individual award winners. Sophomore guard Mike Gesell was named Iowa’s men’s basketball Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Marble, a native of Southfield, Mich., is the first Hawkeye since Adam Haluska in 2007 to garner first-team All-Big Ten honors. Marble was a third-team selection as a junior. He is averaging 17 points, 3.4 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 1.8 steals per game through 31 games. He is the only conference player to average 17 or more points and collect more than 55 steals. In all games, Marble ranks fifth in the league in steals, sixth in scoring and 10th in assists. In Big Ten games only, he ranked second in scoring (18.3).

“This is well-deserved recognition for Devyn,” said UI head coach Fran McCaffery. “He has worked hard to improve his overall game throughout his career. We have asked him to do a number of different things to help our team, and he always steps up to the challenge.”

Marble is one of two Big Ten players since 1985-86 to amass 1,650+ points, 375+ assists, 450+ rebounds and 170+ steals. He ranks sixth in Iowa career scoring with 1,662 points. He has scored 21 points or more 11 times as a senior, including five of the last eight games.

White, a native of Strongsville, Ohio, earned third team honors for the second straight season. He earned honorable mention recognition and was named to the All-Freshman team in his first season with the Hawkeyes. He is the only player in the nation shooting over 55 percent from the field and 80 percent from the free throw line.

White currently ranks second in the Big Ten in field goal percentage (.588), sixth in rebounding (6.8) and 15th in scoring (13.3). He is the only player to average more than 13 points (13.3) and seven rebounds (7.2) in conference games. He is currently 18th in career scoring (1,289).

Aaron White was named to the All-Big Ten third team for the second straight season.

“Aaron affects a game in a number of ways for our team,” said McCaffery. “His value goes beyond what the numbers might suggest. He is one of the most versatile players in the Big Ten and the nation. Aaron constantly works at improving his game and this honor is a reflection of his hard work.”

Gesell has started all 31 games this season and leads the team with 122 assists. The native of South Sioux City, Neb., is third on the team in scoring (8.3) and second in steals (41). He leads the Big Ten and ranks 17th nationally in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.9). Gesell has scored in double figures in seven of Iowa’s last nine games. He is tied for fifth in the Big Ten in assists (3.9) and ranks ninth in steals (1.3).

Joining Marble on the first team, by both coaches and media, were Nik Stauskas (Michigan), Gary Harris (Michigan State), Terran Petteway (Nebraska(, and Frank Kaminsky (Wisconsin). Stauskus, the only unanimous selection, was named Player of the Year by coaches and media.

League coaches named Nebraska’s Tim Miles as Coach of the Year, while the media awarded that honor to Michigan’s John Beilein. The coaches selected Ohio State guard Aaron Craft as Defensive Player of the Year and Wisconsin’s Nigel Hayes Sixth Man of the Year. Both groups named Indiana’s Noah Vonleh Freshman of the Year.

Iowa (20-11, 9-9) will open play in the Big Ten Tournament on Thursday, March 13 against Northwestern (13-18, 6-12). Game time is approximately 8 p.m. (CT) at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis (ESPN2). Iowa is the sixth seed and Northwestern the No. 11 seed. The winner will meet third-seeded Michigan State on Friday (BTN, 8 p.m., CT).