Hawkeyes Perform Strong in Clemson

March 22, 2014

Clemson Meet Results

CLEMSON, S.C. — The University of Iowa women’s rowing team competed against Clemson, Buffalo, Duke, Kansas and Purdue on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C. on Saturday morning. The Hawkeyes placed in the top-three in five of six races.

Iowa second V4+ boat took first with a time of 7:40.6 for the Hawkeyes’ lone victory of the day.

“I think that the racing went quite well, all things considered,” said head coach Andrew Carter. “We were coming off a full training camp that allowed us to get on the water for the first time and the crews had a good sense that they made some solid progress in that short window.

“There were some high-quality crews out there today and Clemson and Duke, in particular, are moving quite well. Being in the mix with those teams is a great way to start our racing season. I think it has injected a new level of enthusiasm for what’s next.”

The first event that Iowa competed in was the third V8+ as they took second with a time of 7:18. Duke won in race with a time of 7:16.7.

In the first V8+, Iowa finished third with a time of 6:55.18. Clemson won the race with a time of 6:42.60, while Duke took the runner-up spot in 6:49.03.

The Hawkeyes took the runner-up spot in the second V8+ behind Clemson with a time of 6:56.42.

In the last race of the day, Iowa finished second behind Clemson in the first V4+ with a time of 7:38.7.

Fans can watch highlights from today’s meet at http://www.clemsontigers.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=28500&ATCLID=209439605.

The Hawkeyes will travel to San Diego to compete at the 41st annual San Diego Crew Classic April 5-6.

Lineups: 1V8+ Claire Benschoter Erin Czupil Morgan Grastorf Beth Baustian Edwina Flakemore Cristy Hartman Brianna Achs Zoe Ribar Sarah Bartlett (coxswain)

2V8+ Laura Hallman Maddie Anglin Gabby Watson Nicole Mitchell Allison Hanson Lauren Subler Jessica Streur Rebecca Thompson Katie Brown (coxswain)

1V4+ Nina Hendriks Alyssa Armstrong Sarah Rhoads Mackenzie Norton Destinee Gwee (coxswain)

2V4+ Rachel Crosley Kasia Gniatczyk Bec Clayton Skylar McSorley Rachel Chambers (coxswain)

N8+ Kelly Below Mackenzi Hefel Kathleen Meek Sarah Powell Trisha Martin Kat Tillman Emily Miller Lauren VanderWall Alyse Higgins (coxswain)