Hawkeyes Dominate Tennessee in Regular Season Finale

May 3, 2014

OAK RIDGE, Tenn. — The University of Iowa women’s rowing team concluded its regular season on a high note, defeating Tennessee in all five events of the regatta in Oak Ridge, Tenn., on Saturday morning.

“The racing went quite well today with all of our crews improving in some critical areas,” said head coach Andrew Carter. “The two varsity eights showed much better form in the second half of their races, which is something that they’ve needed. It was good to see them respond the way they did.

“The two varsity fours really took it to their respective opponents from the word “go” and they never really took they’re foot off the gas. It was good to see that sort of tenacious racing even from in front. The novice eight had a really good day as well. They’ve had a couple of hiccups lately and they we’re certainly back on track here in Oak Ridge. In all, it was a good way to finish the regular season and jump into Big Ten preparations.”

Iowa set the tone with a regatta-opening race win in the 1V8+, besting Tennessee by four seconds in 6:47.50. The 2V8+ boat followed with another Iowa victory with a 7:39.00 effort, edging out Tennessee by two seconds for the event title.

The Hawkeyes won their third event in a row as the 1V4+ boat crossed with a time of 7:39.00, four seconds ahead of Tennessee (7:53.60). The 2V4+ boat contributed another dominating performance with a 35-second win over Tennessee (8:28.10) in 7:53.70.

Iowa finished its sweep of the Lady Vols with a 1N8+ victory. The Hawkeyes won the race by 24.5 seconds.

The Hawkeyes head to Indianapolis, Indiana to compete in the Big Ten Championships on May 18 at Eagle Creek Park. Races will begin at 8 a.m. (CT).


1V8+: Brianna Achs, Erin Czupil, Morgan Grastorf, Lauren Subler, Claire Benschoter, Beth Baustian, Edwina Flakemore, Zoe Ribar , Sarah Bartlett (coxswain)

2V8+: Jessica Streur, Madeline Anglin, Laura Hallman, Nicole Mitchell, Allison Hanson, Cristy Hartman, Gabrielle Watson, Rebecca Thompson, Katie Brown (coxswain)

1V4+: Nina Hendriks, Alyssa Armstrong, Sarah Rhoads, Mackenzie Norton, Destinee Gwee (coxswain)

2V4+: Rachel Crosley, Kasia Gniatczyk , Bec Clayton, Skylar McSorley, Rachel Chambers (coxswain)

1N8+: Kelly Below, Sarah Powell, Tess Kopecky, Kat Tillman, Kathleen Meek, Victoria Bricker, Emily Miller, Morgan Dorsey, Alyse Higgins