Borja, Morris Earn Award

May 5, 2014

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior student-athletes Elise Borja and James Morris recently received the Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award at the 2014 Finkbine Dinner. The award, which is named after a former dean and longtime UI faculty representative to the Big Ten Conference, is annually presented by the UI President’s Committee on Athletics (PCA) to a male and female student athlete who demonstrates outstanding academic and athletic excellence and leadership.

Borja, a native of Waukesha, Wis., is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and a 2013 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar. The freestyler is a school record holder as part of the 200-yard medley (1:40.12) and 400-freestyle (3:21.07) relays. She also has the second-fastest time in 50-free (22.96) and fourth-best time in the 100 free (50.45). Borja is majoring in biology and chemistry.

Morris, from Solon, Iowa, recently completed his playing career as the Hawkeyes concluded the 2013 season with an 8-5 overall record following their appearance in the 2014 Outback Bowl. Morris started 42 games and collected 400 career tackles, which ranks sixth on Iowa’s career chart. He ranked second on the team with 107 tackles in 2013. He earned second team All-Big Ten honors, was the Iowa recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award and was named Iowa’s 2014 male Big Ten Medal of Honor winner. Morris led the Hawkeyes in sacks (8), tackles for loss (18) and interceptions (4), becoming the first linebacker to lead Iowa in interceptions since the stat was first kept in 1986.

A political science major with a 3.87 grade point average, Morris was named to the 2014 Capital One Academic All-America first team. He earned a $7,500 NCAA Post-Graduate Scholarship and was named a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete. A three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, Morris was one of four finalists for the Lott Trophy and one of 12 finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy.