Hawkeyes Seeded 6th in Big Ten Tournament


November 2, 2014


2014 B1G Field Hockey BracketGet Acrobat Reader

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The 14th-ranked University of Iowa field hockey team has earned the No. 6 seed in the 2014 Big Ten Tournament, the conference announced Sunday. The tournament will be held at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Michigan, beginning Thursday, Nov. 6. The tournament champion will earn the Big Ten’s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

Iowa (11-6, 4-4) will face No. 8 and third-seeded Northwestern (13-6, 6-2) on Thursday at 4:30 p.m. (CT). The Hawkeyes last met the Wildcats on Oct. 5th in Iowa City with Northwestern coming out on top, 3-1. The winner of Thursday’s contest advances to face Michigan/Rutgers in the second semifinal Friday at 2:45 p.m.

Iowa advanced to the Big Ten Tournament title game last season. Iowa has won five Big Ten Tournament Championships (1981, 1994, 2006, 2007, 2008), the most recent title coming in the 2008 season when Iowa posted a 2-1 win over Ohio State.

Live streamed coverage of all four quarterfinal matches will be available on BTN Plus. BTN and BTN2Go will provide live coverage of the semifinals on Friday. The championship game will air live at noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 9. Follow all the Big Ten Tournament action at bigten.org and on Twitter @bigtenchamps.

Print Friendly Version