Scherff Adds Additional First Team All-America Honors


Dec. 17, 2014

  • Hawkeye Football Game Day
  • 2014 Fall Camp Central
  • Read the November issue of Hawk Talk Monthly
  • Download your Hawk Talk Monthly iOS app
  • Download your Hawk Talk Monthly android app
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPhone/iPad app
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye android app
  • Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video

    fbgold.jpg twitgold222-bluebird.jpg fbblack.jpg twitblack-whitebird.jpg

    IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa senior offensive lineman Brandon Scherff gained additional All-America honors Wednesday, being named to first team honor squads named by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and Sporting News.

    Along with becoming the fourth Hawkeye to win the Outland Trophy, Scherff has been named first team All-America by nine organizations, including the Walter Camp Foundation, AFCA, FWAA, Associated Press, Sporting News,, USA Today, and College Sports Madness.

    Scherff is a 6-foot-5, 320-pound left tackle who has started all 12 games this season. The native of Denison, Iowa, has started 25 consecutive starts since missing the final five games of the 2012 season because of a major injury. He has 35 career starts.

    Scherff joins elite company by being named to the first units named by the football coaches and writers associations, respectively. Under Kirk Ferentz, Scherff is just the sixth Hawkeye to earn first team honors from the coaches association and the seventh to earn first team recognition from the football writers. He is the first Iowa player to earn first team honors from as many as nine outlets since linebacker Larry Station in 1985.

    Previously earning first team honors were tight end Dallas Clark (2002, both), offensive lineman Robert Gallery (2003, both), offensive lineman Eric Steinbach (2002, AFCA), kicker Nate Kaeding (2002 FWAA, 2003 AFCA), offensive lineman Bruce Nelson (2002, FWAA), running back Shonn Greene (2008, FWAA), linebacker Pat Angerer (2009, FWAA), and defensive end Adrian Clayborn (2010, AFCA).

    Scherff helped the Hawkeyes post a 7-5 record this season, including a 4-4 Big Ten Conference mark. The Hawkeyes are bowl eligible for the 13th time in the last 14 seasons and will play Tennessee in the TaxSlayer Bowl, Jan. 2 (2:20 p.m., CT, ESPN).

    Scherff was named the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year in the Big Ten Conference, while earning first-team All-Big Ten honors for the second straight season. He was also a semifinal candidate for the Rotary Lombardi Award.

    Scherff was named a Permanent Team Captain and Most Valuable Player at Iowa’s recent awards banquet. He was also the recipient of the Hayden Fry “Extra Heartbeat” Award, the Iron Hawk Award and the Coaches Appreciation Award. He has been a member of Iowa’s Leadership Group the last four years.

    Scherff started all 13 games in 2013 as Iowa posted an 8-5 record. He was named second-team All-America by the Football Writers Association (FWAA) and third-team All-America by both Athlon Sports and Lindy’s. He earned first-team All-Big Ten honors from league coaches and was Iowa’s offensive Most Valuable Player.

Print Friendly Version