Aaron White Named to USWBA All-District Team


March 10, 2015

fbgold.jpg twitgold222-bluebird.jpg fbblack.jpg twitblack-whitebird.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior forward Aaron White was named Tuesday to the 10-player All-District VI team by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). The all-district honor comes one day after being recognized on the All-Big Ten first team.

White, a native of Strongsville, Ohio, becomes the second Hawkeye in as many years to garner all-district accolades (Roy Devyn Marble in 2014). The team co-captain ranks third in the Big Ten in rebounding (7.4) and seventh in scoring (15.9). Since Feb. 16, no other player in the Big Ten has scored at a higher pace than White (21.2 ppg). The forward ranks second in Iowa career scoring (1,793), third in rebounding (881), first in free throws made (602) and attempted (782), and 14th in double-doubles (15). White is the only Hawkeye to amass 1,700+ points and 850+ rebounds. White, who is on the Karl Malone Award Watch List, is the only active Division I player in the country to register 1,750+ points, 875+ rebounds, 175+ assists, and 125+ steals. He is also the only player in the nation this season to average 15+ points and 7+ rebounds while also shooting better than 50 percent from the field and 80 percent from the free throw line.

White (6-foot-9, 220 pounds) helped the Hawkeyes win 12 conference games for the first time in 18 years. He was also instrumental in leading Iowa to seven true road victories — the most by a Hawkeye team since 1987. During White’s four-year career, Iowa won 59 home games, the most of any four-year class in school history.

Joining White on the 10-player squad is Ron Baker (Wichita State); Perry Ellis (Kansas); Phil Forte (Oklahoma State); Buddy Hield (Oklahoma); Monte Morris (Iowa State); Le’Bryan Nash (Oklahoma State); Georges Niang (Iowa State); Seth Tuttle (Northern Iowa); Fred Van Vleet (Wichita State).

Iowa (21-10, 12-6) will open play in the Big Ten Tournament on Thursday, March 12 against either Nebraska or Penn State. Game time is approximately 1:30 p.m. (CT) at the United Center in Chicago (BTN).

Print Friendly Version