Ott Named to Big Ten Players to Watch List


July 30, 2015

fbgold.jpg twitgold222-bluebird.jpg fbblack.jpg twitblack-whitebird.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior defensive end Drew Ott has been named to the 2015 football preseason Big Ten Players to Watch List. The announcement was made by the Big Ten Conference on Thursday. A select media panel voted for the top five players from both the East and West Divisions, with one additional honoree this year due to a tie.

Ott (6-foot-4, 272-pounds) started all 13 games in 2014, recording 57 total tackles, including 26 solo stops and 31 assists. The Trumbull, Nebraska, native tied for sixth in the Big Ten and led the Hawkeyes in sacks (8-41), while also leading the Iowa defense in tackles for loss (12-54) and QB pressures (seven).

A preseason second team All-Big Ten selection by Athlon Sports and Phil Steele, Ott was named second team All-Big Ten by league media following the 2014 campaign. In addition, he garnered third team All-Big Ten honors by College Sports Madness and honorable mention All-Big Ten by league coaches. He also earned Academic All-Big Ten honors for the second-straight year. Ott was also named to this year’s Nagurski Trophy Watch List.

In addition to Ott, the West Division is represented by Maliek Collins (Nebraska, DT), De’Mornay Pierson’El (Nebraska, WR), Justin Jackson (Northwestern, RB), Michael Caputo (Wisconsin, S), and Corey Clement (Wisconsin, RB).

The East Division includes Connor Cook (Michigan State, QB), Shilique Calhoun (Michigan State, DE), Joey Bosa (Ohio State, DE), Ezekiel Elliott (Ohio State, RB), and Anthony Zettel (Penn State, DT).

Iowa senior offensive lineman Brandon Scherff was named to the Big Ten Players to Watch List last season. The 2014 consensus All-American went on to win the Outland Trophy and earn Rimington-Pace Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year. Scherff was the fifth player (Washington Redskins) selected in the 2015 NFL Draft.

Ott and the Hawkeyes open the 2015 season Saturday, Sept. 5, hosting Illinois State inside Kinnick Stadium (11 a.m., BTN). Tickets are available for purchase by contacting the UI Athletic Ticket Office at (800) IA-HAWKS, or online at

Print Friendly Version