GymHawks Announce 2015-16 Schedule

Sept. 30, 2015

Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPad/iPhone app!
Download your Hawk Talk Monthly iOS app
Download your Hawk Talk Monthly android app
Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
24 Hawkeyes to Watch

fbgold.jpgtwit22gold.jpg fbblack.jpgtwitblack.jpg youtube_gold.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Head coach Larissa Libby and the University of Iowa women’s gymnastics team announced its 2015-16 schedule Wednesday. The Hawkeyes — who finished last season with a No. 16 national ranking — will host 2016 NCAA Regional competition on April 2.


The schedule features six home events and five appearances inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Iowa will face five teams that finished in the top 25 of last year’s GymInfo/Troester Collegiate Rankings.

The Hawkeyes kick off the season with the annual Black and Gold Intrasquad on Dec. 5 inside the UI Field House before beginning the regular season on the road in Cancun, Mexico, on Jan. 2.

Iowa opens their home slate on Jan. 9, hosting Northern Illinois inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena, then hits the road to take on Michigan State on Jan. 15.

Iowa returns home for three of its next five events, hosting teams that finished the year ranked in the top 25. The GymHawks face off against Denver (finished No. 11) on Jan. 18, before hosting Big Ten foes Ohio State (No. 21) and Nebraska (No. 9) on Jan. 23 and Feb. 6, respectively.

The Hawkeyes — comprised of four seniors, six juniors, six sophomores, and seven freshmen — travel to Maryland on Jan. 31 and Illinois on Feb. 13.

Following four-straight conference duals, Iowa concludes its home slate against Towson on Feb. 20, before hitting the road for two more competitions at Denver on Feb. 27 and at Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series rival Iowa State on March 4.

The Hawkeyes will travel to University Park, Pennsylvania, on March 12 for one of the conference’s Big Five Meets at Penn State. The top three teams at each Big Five Meet will advance to the evening session of the Big Ten Championship on March 19 in Lincoln, Nebraska.

The Big Ten’s regular-season champion, determined by win-loss record (including ties), will also be crowned on March 19. Each Big Ten team will compete in five separate dual meets against conference opponents and in one Big Five Meet against the other four teams, assuring every team competes against one another.

This year, Iowa and Carver-Hawkeye Arena have been selected to host 2016 NCAA Regional competition, beginning April 2. The Hawkeyes last hosted an NCAA Regional in 2009.

The top two teams at each of the six regional sites will advance to the NCAA Championship, set for April 15-17 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Iowa has been selected for NCAA Regional competition in seven of the last eight seasons.

Print Friendly Version