Black Squad Wins 2016 Intrasquad Meet

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — Oct. 2016 | Results (PDF)

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The black squad came away with a 121-96 victory over the gold squad, winning 14 events at the University of Iowa swimming and diving program’s annual intrasquad meet Saturday morning at the UI CRWC Natatorium.

“It was really great to see everybody race today,” said UI head coach Marc Long.  “It was fun to see the seniors step up, they were racing hard in this fun environment, and I think that’s a good sign for things to come.  It’s still really early in the season, but everyone worked really hard in the pool today.”
The Black squad got off to a fast start with wins in both the women’s and men’s 200-medley relay.  The quartet of junior Meghan Lavelle, senior Emma Sougstad, sophomore Kelly McNamara, and senior Taylor Flummerfelt clocked in at 1:44.31. For the men, it was sophomore Kenneth Mende, freshman Weston Credit, junior Jerzy Twarowski, and sophomore Jack Smith touching in 1:32.50.
Both Sougstad and Mende notched two more first-place finishes on the day.  Sougstad swam to victories in the 100 IM (57.64) and the 100 breast (1:02.55).  Mende recorded top finishes in the 100 IM (52.29) and the 100 back (49.67).
Hannah Burvill, the reigning Big Ten Freshman of the Week, was one of several Hawkeye freshmen to notch first-place finishes on Saturday.  Burvill won the 200 free (1:50.14) and 500 free (5:03.86) as an individual, and swam the first-leg of the winning 200-free relay team (1:34.35).
One of the highlights of the meet came in the diver’s 50 free when sophomore Will Brenner touched with a time of 21.39 for the win. He finished .43 behind freshman Will Scott, who won the main 50 free in 20.96 seconds.
Scott was also a member of the winning 200-free relay team (1:22.84).
The Hawkeyes are back in action later this month when they travel to Minneapolis for a Big Ten dual against Minnesota.  The men are scheduled to compete on Oct. 28 at 6:30 p.m. (CT), while the women compete on Oct. 29, beginning at 11 a.m.