Hawkeyes Notch 2 Top 10 Performances at Head of the Charles

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — Oct. 2016

BOSTON, Massachusetts – The University of Iowa rowing team competed among some of the world’s best on Sunday at the prestigious Head of the Charles Regatta in Boston.  Strong winds gusting up to 50mph challenged the crews on the Charles River in front of over 250,000 spectators.  
The Hawkeyes were represented in the two premier events for women, the Championship 4+ and Championship 8+.

“I think our crews did a fine job in pretty challenging conditions,” said UI head coach Andrew Carter. “The winds were tough and unpredictable so crews that managed it well, fared well in the final tally.”

In the Championship 4+, the Hawkeyes placed seventh overall and fifth among collegiate entries.  The event was won by Denmark in 18:44.56 while Brown University finished as the top collegiate crew.
“The 4+ was pretty consistent throughout and I was particularly impressed with the coxing of Faith Wieland,” said head coach Andrew Carter.  “She held a solid line in challenging conditions and on a challenging course.  She certainly gave her crew the best opportunity to place well.”
In the Championship 8+, Hawkeyes finished 12th overall and tenth among collegiate entries.  The event was won by a composite crew known as the “Great Eight” in 16:30.36.
“The 8+ hit a couple of rough patches, especially in the third quarter of the race but they bounced back to finish well in the final section,” said Carter.  “While it’s always tough to have those rough patches, I think the way they regrouped is a strong statement about their character. We’re going to need that when we get into the spring season.”

The Head of Charles, a historic event featuring nearly 11,000 competitors racing on the Charles River, was the final fall event for Iowa’s varsity crews. The Hawkeyes open the spring season on March 25 at Texas. 

Head of the Charles Lineups

Championship 4+
1V4+: Bianca DiBellonia, Hannah Bristowe, Kathryn Tillman, Katie Pearson, Faith Wieland (coxswain)

Championship 8+
1V8+: Cristy Hartman, Izabella Dolba, Gemma Kerr, Morgan Grastorf, Victoria Bricker, Ashley Duda, Kaelynn Heiberg, Sarah Powell, Georgia Sanderson (coxswain)