Cafone, Jewell Named Student-Athletes of the Month

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — Nov. 2016

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa Student-Athlete Academic Services has recognized senior Natalie Cafone and junior Josey Jewell as October student-athletes of the month. 
Voted on by their peers, this honor recognizes student-athletes who have excelled in their sport and in the classroom.
Cafone led the Iowa field hockey team to a 5-2 record during the month of October, including an upset win over No. 9 Northwestern in overtime on the road.  Cafone led the Hawkeyes with nine goals and 19 points during the seven-game stretch.
Cafone — a three-time first team All-Big Ten honoree — was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year on Nov. 2.  She also earned the honor in 2014, becoming one of three Hawkeyes to earn the award in multiple years (Erica Richards in 1986-87; Kristy Gleason in 1992-93).  Cafone led the Big Ten in goals (20), goals per game (1.11), shots (87), shots per game (4.83), and points (48) during the regular season.
A native of Fairfield, New Jersey, Cafone started 65 games over the course of her Hawkeye career, collecting 68 goals, 23 assists and 159 points. The two-time NFHCA All-American and NFHCA All-West Region selection is tied for sixth (Ellen Egan) on Iowa’s all-time goals list.
Jewell has started every game at linebacker this season, leading the Iowa football team to two wins during the month of October.  The Big Ten’s leading tackler recorded 44 tackles in four games, matching a career-high with 16 tackles versus both Northwestern and No. 10 Wisconsin. 
Jewell, a native of Decorah, Iowa, anchors the 10th-best red zone defense in the country and has been a key part of a Hawkeye defense that has recorded 12 takeaways (five interceptions, seven fumble recoveries).
A second team All-Big Ten honoree in 2015, Jewell ranks 25th all-time in tackles at Iowa with 264 career stops.  On Oct. 31, the two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree was named a semifinalist for the 2016 Butkus Award, presented annually to the nation’s best linebacker.