8 Hawkeyes Earn NFHCA Academic Honors

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — March

IOWA  CITY, Iowa – Eight University of Iowa field hockey student athletes have been named to the 2017 National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division I National Academic Squad, the NFHCA announced Wednesday.
The National Academic Squad recognizes student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year.
Iowa’s eight honorees include sophomore Lara Bampfield, junior JoElla Guagliardo, freshman Ryley Miller, junior Taylor Omweg, senior Alexandra Pecora, junior Melissa Progar, freshman Leslie Speight, and freshman Isabella Solaroli. Solaroli was also named a Scholar of Distinction for accumulating a GPA of 3.9 or higher during the first semester.
Guagliardo, Omweg, and Progar are three-time National Academic Squad honorees.  Pecora earns her second honor, while Bampfield, Miller, Speight, and Solaroli are all first time honorees.
Together, Iowa’s eight honorees notched 71 starts this season. Guagliardo led the recipients with seven goals this season, while Progar had a team-high 12 assists (second most in the Big Ten). Pecora started all 19 games in net for the Hawkeyes this season recording 12 wins, including three shutouts.