Hawkeyes Open Season Hosting Michigan State

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch – 2017-18 | Fight For Iowa | Hawk Talk Monthly — October | Results (PDF)

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa swimming and diving program opened the 2017-18 season competing in five events Thursday night against Michigan State at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Natatorium.
34535The 200 free relay team of Hannah Burvill, Allyssa Fluit, Mekenna Scheitlin, and Sarah Schemmel touched in at 1:34.29 to start the night giving the Hawkeyes their first win. The men’s relay team of Michal Brzus, Jack Smith, Joe Myhre, and Matt Kamin clocked 1:21.87 to win the Men’s 200 Free Relay.
Senior Mekenna Scheitlin recorded a time of 25.05 to win the Women’s 50 Fly, with fellow Hawkeye sophomore Hannah Burvill touching in second.
In the Men’s 50 Fly, senior Jerzy Twarowski registered a time of 21.75 to give the Hawkeyes another win. Junior Michal Brzus followed with a time of 22.18 for a second place finish.
Senior Jo Jekel touched in first for the Hawkeyes with a time of 26.18 in the Women’s 50 Yard Backstroke. Junior Kenneth Mende recorded another victory for the Hawkeyes in the Men’s 50 Back.
In the 50 Breaststroke, Mekenna Scheitlin touched in at 30.01 to record her second victory of the evening. Freshman Daniel Swanepoel and sophomore Weston Credit would finish second and third, respectively, in the Men’s 50 Breaststroke. Michigan State’s Nick Leshok clocked a time of 26.11 to take first place.
The Hawkeyes closed out Thursday night with the 100 IM marking two more Hawkeye wins — Mekenna Scheitlin (58.40) and Daniel Swanepoel (52.44).
The Hawkeyes return to the CRWC Natatorium for the final events beginning at 10 a.m. (CT) Friday morning.