Jewell, Jackson Earn 3 Big Ten Individual Honors

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly — November 2017

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa football players Josey Jewell and Josh Jackson were named recipients of three Big Ten Individual Awards, the Big Ten conference announced Thursday.
Jewell earned the Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year and the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year. Jackson was named the Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year.
It is Iowa’s first individual Big Ten honor since 2015 when head coach Kirk Ferentz and Desmond King won the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year and Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year, respectively.
Jewell, a native of Decorah, Iowa, was named first team All-Big Ten this season. He leads the Big Ten and ranks third nationally in tackles (125 total, 11.4 per game). He is one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, and a finalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy. He was named the recipient of the Jack Lambert Award on Monday.
Jewell is the third Hawkeye in program history to have three seasons with at least 115 tackles (Larry Station 83, 84, 85; Abdul Hodge 03, 04, 05). Jewell has led the team in tackles in each of the last three seasons (126 in 2015, 124 in 2016). Jewell has 426 career tackles, fifth all-time in program history.
Jackson, a native of Corinth, Texas, is tied as the national leader with seven interceptions, and also earned all-conference recognition. He leads the nation with 25 passes defended and is tied for second in interception return touchdowns (two), and pass break-ups (18). He ranks third in interception return yards (163). Jackson’s seven interceptions rank fourth best for a single season at Iowa, just one from tying Iowa’s single-season record (Desmond King, 2015; Lou King, 1981; Nile Kinnick, 1939). Jackson was named the Jack Tatum Award winner on Tuesday and is one of three finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award.
Jackson tied Iowa’s school record with two interception returns for touchdowns (B.J. Lowery, 2013) at Wisconsin, covering 43 and 52 yards. The previous week, Jackson tied Iowa’s school record with three interceptions in Iowa’s 55-24 win over No. 3 Ohio State. Jackson also had a forced fumble at Wisconsin, and a blocked field goal in a win over North Texas. He has started all 12 games this season and recorded 47 tackles.
Jewell becomes the first Hawkeye to win the Nagurski-Woodson Award since defensive end Leroy Smith in 1991 and first ever to win the Butkus-Fitzgerald Award. Jackson is the third Hawkeye to win the Tatum-Woodson aAward in its seven year history, joining Micah Hyde (2012) and Desmond King (2015).
The Hawkeyes are bowl eligible for the 16th time in 17 season. Their bowl destination and opponent will be announced Sunday.