Jackson, Jewell Named FWAA All-Americans

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 | Hawk Talk Monthly – December 2017

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior linebacker Josey Jewell and junior defensive back Josh Jackson have been named to the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) All-America team Monday afternoon.

This is the fourth time in five years Iowa has had an FWAA All-American (King, 2015; Scherff, 2014; Scherff, 2013) and first time in that span that Iowa has had two first-team All-Americans.

Jewell and Jackson become the 24th and 25th consensus All-Americans in Iowa history. This year marks the fifth time in program history that a pair of Hawkeyes earned consensus All-America honors in the same season. Jewell and Jackson join Robert Gallery and Nate Kaeding (2003), Eric Steinbach and Dallas Clark (2002), Chuck Long and Larry Station (1985), and Andre Tippett and Reggie Roby (1981).

Jewell, a native of Decorah, Iowa, was named a Walter Camp Foundation first-team All-American, Associated Press first-team All-American, SB Nation first-team All-American, and was recipient of the Lott IMPACT Trophy and Jack Lambert Award. Jewell earned first-team all-conference honors by Big Ten coach and media and Associated Press. He leads the Big Ten and ranks third nationally in tackles (125 total, 11.4 per game). Jewell is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and was a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy. In addition, he was a semifinalist for the Bednarik and Butkus Awards.

Jewell is the third Hawkeye in program history to have three seasons with at least 115 tackles (Larry Station 83, 84, 85; Abdul Hodge 03, 04, 05). Jewell has led the team in tackles in each of the last two seasons (126 in 2015, 124 in 2016). 

Jewell has 426 career tackles, fifth all-time in program history.

Jackson, a native of Corinth, Texas, is tied as the national leader with seven interceptions and earned all-conference recognition for the first time and was named a first-team All-American by the Walter Camp Foundation, Associated Press, and SB Nation.  He leads the nation with 25 passes defended and is tied for second in interception return touchdowns (two), and pass break-ups (18).  He ranks third in interception return yards (163).  Jackson’s seven interceptions rank fourth best for a single season at Iowa, just one from tying Iowa’s single-season record (Desmond King, 2015; Lou King, 1981; Nile Kinnick, 1939).

Jackson tied Iowa’s school record with two interception returns for touchdowns (B.J. Lowery, 2013) at Wisconsin, covering 43 and 52 yards.  The previous week, Jackson tied Iowa’s school record with three interceptions in Iowa’s 55-24 win over No. 3 Ohio State.  Jackson also had a forced fumble at Wisconsin, and a blocked field goal in a win over North Texas.  He has started all 12 games this season and recorded 47 tackles. Jackson is a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award.

Iowa (7-5) is bowl eligible for the 16th time in the last 17 seasons.  The Hawkeyes will meet Boston College (7-5) in the Pinstripe Bowl on Dec. 27 (4:15 p.m. CT). Tickets are available at hawkeyesports.com/tickets.