Field Hockey Announces Annual Team Awards

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 – /sports/2017/7/19/24-hawkeyes-to-watch-2016-17.aspx

Iowa City, Iowa — The University of Iowa field hockey team announced its 2017 team awards this weekend. All four team awards were voted on by players and coaches.  
Katie Birch was named team MVP. Birch finished the season ranked third in the Big Ten in goals (14) and goals per game (0.78).  The sophomore from York, England, finished fourth in the conference in shots (69) and second in shots per game (3.83).  She was also named a NFHCA third-team All-American, a NFHCA All-West Region honoree, and an All-Big Ten first team selection.
The Nancy McLinden Carr Award — presented to the player who consistently exudes enthusiasm, energy, and a positive attitude within the Iowa Field Hockey program — was awarded to Maddy Murphy.  The Riana, Tasmania, native started all 18 games in 2017, finishing second on the team and seventh in the Big Ten with 11 goals.  She finished fifth in the Big Ten in goals per game (0.61) and eighth in game winning goals (3).  Murphy earned NFHCA All-West Region honors and was a second team All-Big Ten selection.
The Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award — presented to the player who demonstrates leadership on a daily basis — was awarded to Mallory Lefkowitz.  The senior, a native of Kingston, Pennsylvania, started all 18 games for the Hawkeyes in 2017, tallying 1,040 minutes.  She finished the season with seven points. 
Taylor Omweg and Sophie Sunderland both took home the Practice Player of The Year Award, which is presented to the player who maintains the highest level of intensity throughout the year.  Omweg, a Yorktown, Virginia, native played in all 18 games, scoring two goals and registering two assists.  Sunderland, a native of Ipswich, England, started in all 18 games and tallying the third most goals for the Hawkeyes with four.