Field Hockey Releases 2019 Schedule

Hawk Talk Monthly – May | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa field hockey team will play nine regular season games at Grant Field as part of its 2019 schedule, head coach Lisa Cellucci announced Thursday.

Schedule Highlights

  • The 17-game schedule features seven games against NCAA Tournament teams from last season: Wake Forest (Aug. 30), defending national champion North Carolina (Sept. 1), Duke (Sept. 15), Rutgers (Oct. 4), national runner-up Maryland (Oct. 11), Penn State (Oct. 13), and Michigan (Nov. 2). Five of the seven games against NCAA Tournament qualifiers will be on the road.
  • The season will begin in Ann Arbor, Michigan, at the Big Ten/ACC Challenge on August 30-September 1. The Hawkeyes will face Wake Forest and North Carolina. In 2018, Iowa went 1-1 at the Big Ten/ACC Challenge. Wake Forest and North Carolina were both NCAA Final Four teams last season.
  • Iowa’s nine-game home slate features Central Michigan (Aug. 6), Columbia (Aug. 8), California (Aug. 13), Duke (Aug. 15), Ohio State (Aug. 27), Michigan State (Aug. 29), Rutgers (Oct. 4), UC Davis (Oct. 6), and Northwestern (Oct. 26).
  • Postseason play begins with the Big Ten Tournament on November 7-10, hosted by Penn State in University Park, Pennsylvania. The first and second rounds of the NCAA Tournament are November 15-17.

To view the complete 2019 schedule, click HERE

FFI footer