Clark Named Lieberman Award Finalist

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa freshman Caitlin Clark was named a Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award finalist, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced Monday.

The finalists include five student-athletes: Aari McDonald (Arizona), Didi Richards (Baylor), Paige Bueckers (Connecticut), Caitlin Clark (Iowa), and Tiana Mangakahia (Syracuse).

Clark leads the nation in total points, recording 564 on the season. She ranks second in total assists (149), assists per game (7.1), points per game (26.9), 3-pointers made (82), triple doubles (1), and 3-pointer attempts (202).

The West Des Moines, Iowa, native ranks in the top-50, nationally, in seven additional statistical categories, including third in field goals made (188) and 3-pointers per game (3.9), eighth in field goal attempts (394), 17th in free throws made (106), 28th in free throw attempts (125), 44th in 3-point percentage (40.6), and 45th in free-throw percentage (84.8).

Clark and the Hawkeyes travel to Bloomington, Indiana, to take on the No. 11 Hoosiers on Wednesday, March 3 inside Assembly Hall. Tipoff is set for 3:30 p.m. (CT) on Big Ten Network.