Nijziel, Holley Named to NCAA All-Tournament Team

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa field hockey junior Anthe Nijziel and senior Ellie Holley were named to the 2020 NCAA Division I All-Tournament Team, the NCAA office announced on Monday afternoon.

The honors are the pair’s first of their careers and they are first NCAA all-tournament honorees since 2008 when former Hawkeye Lauren Pfeiffer and assistant coach Roz Ellis were named to the prestigious team. 29 Hawkeyes have earned All-Tournament Team honors, including Holley and Nijziel.

In Iowa’s NCAA Tournament run this season, Ellie Holley recorded two shots and one assist against Northwestern in Iowa’s Elite Eight game, helping to defeat the Wildcats, 3-1, to advance to the program’s twelfth Final Four. She tallied an additional shot during Iowa’s Final Four matchup against North Carolina.

Nijziel led Iowa’s defense throughout the entire tournament, helping to set the pace of each game. The junior registered two goals and three assists on the season for the Hawkeyes.