Nijziel, Murphy, Holley Named NFHCA All-Americans

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Three University of Iowa field hockey student-athletes — Anthe Nijziel (first team), Maddy Murphy (second team), and Ellie Holley (third team) — earned NFHCA All-American status, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced Tuesday via YouTube.  

The three Hawkeyes add to Iowa’s lengthy list of All-Americans, tallying 97 total honors in program history. This is also the first time since 2008 that Iowa has had three All-Americans. Murphy earns her third national All-American honor making her the eighth Hawkeye in program history to be a three-time national All-American. Holley and Nijziel earn their first NFHCA All-America honors.

Murphy, Holley, and Nijziel helped lead Iowa to a 12-6 (5-3) record, including a trip to the NCAA Final Four — the twelfth appearance in program history. Murphy scored Iowa’s game-winning goal in the NCAA Tournament Elite Eight game over Northwestern, while Holley and Nijziel held down the Hawkeye defense.  

Holley, a senior midfielder, pushed the Hawkeyes on both ends of the field, registering three goals, seven assists, and 13 points. Holley notched the game winning goal in Iowa’s shootout against Michigan State. She notched another goal in Iowa’s 3-1 win over Maryland in the Big Ten Tournament Quarterfinal.  

Nijziel, led the Iowa defense throughout the entire season. Iowa’s defense held its opponents to an average 4.7 goals per game compared to the Hawkeyes’ 11.8. The junior defender and Eindhoven, Netherlands, native was also a key part of Iowa’s defense that allowed only 11 goals in 18 games. Nijziel’s other postseason honors include Big Ten Player of the Year, Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, and first-team All-Big Ten. 

Murphy recorded a team-leading eight goals (ranking fourth in the Big Ten) and two assists, combining for 18 points. A native of Raina, Tasmania, Murphy also earned first-team All-West and first-team All-Big Ten honors for her outstanding play.