Linderbaum Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior center Tyler Linderbaum has been named to the 2021 Outland Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced on Tuesday. The trophy is presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman on offense or defense.

Linderbaum (6-foot-3, 290-pounds) was a finalist for the Rimington Trophy a year ago and earned first-team All-America honors from The Athletic and Pro Football Focus. He was a second-team All-America honoree by the Associated Press, FWAA, Phil Steele, and the Walter Camp Foundation. He was a first-team All-Big Ten selection by league media.

The Solon, Iowa, native was tabbed preseason first-team All-Big Ten and preseason first-team All-America by Athlon Sports. Linderbaum was also named to the Big Ten Conference preseason honors list, and the Rimington Trophy Watch List.

Established in 1946, the Outland Trophy is named after Dr. John H. Outland, who is one of only a few players in college football history to be named an All-American at two positions.

The recipient of the 2021 Outland Trophy will be announced in December. Four Hawkeyes (Brandon Scherff, 2014; Robert Gallery, 2003; Alex Karras, 1957; Cal Jones, 1955) have won the award. Daviyon Nixon was a finalist for the award last season. Only three programs in the nation (Nebraska, Alabama, Oklahoma) have had more than four Outland Trophy recipients.

The Hawkeyes open the 2021 season Sep. 4, hosting Indiana.