Iowa Names 2021 Football Player Council

IOWA CITY, Iowa – – The University of Iowa football program has named 16 players to the 2021 Player Council. Head coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group Friday.

The group includes six seniors and 10 juniors. The purpose of the group is to assist in formulating policies and being involved in team decision-making throughout the year. Players were selected following coaching staff and player input.

“The Hawkeye Player Council plays a vital role in our program,” said Ferentz. “This group, made up of the 12 Hawkeye Championship captains and four at-large selections, helps strengthen our program by providing team feedback to the coaches and staff. Their perspectives ensure that all of our players feel their voices are heard throughout every facet of our program. The council has already provided valuable leadership throughout winter and summer workouts and will continue to have an impact as we enter the 2021 season.”

The 2021 group consists of seniors Matt Hankins, Ivory Kelly-Martin, Jack Koerner, Kyler Schott, Caleb Shudak and Zach VanValkenburg, and juniors Dane Belton, Seth Benson, Jack Campbell, Joe Evans, Tyler Goodson, Sam LaPorta, Tyler Linderbaum, Kaevon Merriweather, Spencer Petras, and Tyrone Tracy, Jr.

The 2021 Hawkeye Player Council includes:

Dane Belton DB Junior Tampa, Florida
Seth Benson LB Junior Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Jack Campbell LB Junior Cedar Falls, Iowa
Joe Evans DE Junior Ames, Iowa
Tyler Goodson RB Junior Suwanee, Georgia
Matt Hankins DB Senior Lewisville, Texas
Ivory Kelly RB Senior Plainfield, Illinois
Jack Koerner DB Senior Des Moines, Iowa
Sam LaPorta TE Junior Highland, Illinois
Tyler Linderbaum OL Junior Solon, Iowa
Kaevon Merriweather DB Junior Belleville, Michigan
Spencer Petras QB Junior San Rafael, California
Kyler Schott OL Senior Coggon, Iowa
Caleb Shudak K Senior Council Bluffs, Iowa
Tyrone Tracy WR Junior Camby, Indiana
Zach VanValkenburg DL Senior Zeeland, Michigan