5 Hawkeyes Earn Big Ten Postseason Honors

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Five University of Iowa soccer players earned Big Ten Conference postseason honors, the league office announced Thursday.

Sara Wheaton was named to the All-Big Ten second team. Alyssa Walker and Hailey Rydberg picked up third-team honors. Addie Bundy was a unanimous selection on the All-Freshman team, and Riley Whitaker was one of 14 players to earn the conference sportsmanship award.

The 2021 postseason team marks the first time in 21 years Iowa has three players named to one of the top three All-Big Ten teams. In 2000, Sarah Lynch (first team), Julie Atkocaitis (second team) and Kate Walse each earned all-conference recognition.

Wheaton started all 18 games, logging a team-high 1,646 minutes. She has played the entirety of 17 of Iowa’s 18 contests. The Chandler, Arizona, native had one goal and three assists, leading defense that has registered six shoutouts.

Walker led Iowa and tied for third in the conference with eight goals. She tallied a team-best three game-winning goals and 18 points. The graduate transfer from Richmond started 17 of 18 games.

Rydberg started all 18 games at midfield, where she led the team and tied for fourth in the conference with seven assists. The St. Charles, Illinois, native is a team captain in 2021 and has played the entirety of four games this season.

Bundy becomes the 12th Hawkeye in program history, and the third in as many years, to be named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team. The Fort Collins, Colorado, native ranks second on the team and ties for eighth in the conference with six assists. She is one of two conference freshman to earn a unanimous selection to the all-freshman team.

Whitaker, a senior from Ankeny, Iowa, was Iowa’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. Whitaker missed time early in the season due to injury but has made 10 starts in 13 appearances, playing the entirety of five contests.

The Hawkeyes are seeded fifth at the 2021 Big Ten Conference tournament and open play Sunday at 1 p.m. (CT) against fourth-seeded Michigan State. The game is streamed live on BTN+.


All-Big Ten Second Team
Sara Wheaton, defense

All-Big Ten Third Team
Alyssa Walker, forward
Hailey Rydberg, midfield

All-Freshman Team
Addie Bundy, midfield (unanimous)

Sportsmanship Award
Riley Whitaker