24 Hawkeyes Named to NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Twenty-four University of Iowa field hockey student-athletes have been named to the 2021 National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division I National Academic Squad. The 24 honorees are tied for the second-most nationally and are a school record.

Iowa’s honorees include Meghan Conroy, Hillary Cox, Emily Deuell, Harper Dunne, Ellie Flynn, Sammy Freeman, Nikki Freeman, Esme Gibson, Ellie Holley, Sophia Mackrella, Mia Magnotta, Mary Jane McNary, Maddy Murphy, Anthe Nijziel, Kelly Rose, Lieve Schalk, Ciara Smith, Sofie Stribos, Lokke Stribos, Ella Wareham, Alex Wesneski, Amelia Williams, Jacey Wittel and Leah Zellner.

Eight Hawkeyes — Conroy, Deuell, Nikki Freeman, Holley, Murphy, Nijziel, Smith and Lokke Stribos – have each earned the distinction four times in their career.

The NFHCA National Academic Squad, sponsored by OPA Winning Teams, honors collegiate student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the current academic year and were nominated by their NFHCA member coach.

Iowa is tied for the most honorees nationally with Duke, Fairfield, and California Berkeley.

The Hawkeyes finished the 2021 season with a 17-3 overall record with an outright Big Ten regular season title. Iowa advanced to the Elite Eight for the 20th time in program history where they fell 1-0 to eventual national champion Northwestern.