Hawkeyes Travel Back to Florida for Big Ten Invite

University of Iowa rowing heads back to Sarasota, Florida, for the second time this season to compete in the Big Ten Invitational at Nathan Benderson Park, hosted by Wisconsin.

The Hawkeyes begin competition at 7:30 a.m. with the 2V4. Iowa’s next race, the 2N8, is set for 8:00 a.m. The 3V4 will take place at 8:20 a.m., followed by the 1N8 at 9:10 a.m. Boot races start at 9:40 a.m., where the Hawkeyes will compete in the 1V8 (9:40 a.m.), 2V8 (9:50 a.m.) and 1V4 (11:00 a.m.). All times listed are Central Time (CT).

The Big Ten Invitational is Iowa’s opening full-roster regatta of the spring, bringing along its 2N8 and 3V4 crews for the first time this season. Each race on Friday and Saturday will be considered a final event.

• The Hawkeyes first varsity eight was named Big Ten Boat of the Week following its performance at the Ivy League-Big Ten Double Dual in Camden, New Jersey on March 26.
• The Hawkeyes’ 1V8 crew picked up its first win of the season by pulling away from Harvard in the second half of the course and finishing in 6:34.3 — more than four seconds in front of Harvard’s top boat.
• Iowa’s 1V8 included Ava Parris (coxswain), Mary Wright, Molly Rygh, Kasi McWhorter, Emma Dabinett, Abbey Klostermann, Lisa Murphy, Hailey Mercuri and Emma Mask.
• The Hawkeyes’ 1V4 crew won Big Ten Boat of the Week after its Grand Final at the Sunshine State Invitational, finishing with a time of 7:20.66 – more than six seconds ahead of second-place Kansas State.
• Iowa’s 1V4 included Livvy Osgood, Jaecee Hall, Heidi Hines, Laura Bates and Cara Burns (coxswain).

• The Hawkeyes’ varsity four and novice eight crews each picked up grand final victories in Sarasota at the Sunshine State Invitational (April 1-2).
• Iowa captured two victories in its first regatta of the championship season. The Hawkeyes’ 1V8 boat came in first, finishing four seconds ahead of Harvard’s boat. The second victory occurred in the 2V4, with the Hawkeyes out-pacing Harvard by 28.8 seconds.
• The Hawkeyes are receiving votes for the third consecutive week in the latest national Pocock CRCA Poll.
• Iowa’s coaching staff includes associate head coach Megan Fitzpatrick, and assistant coaches Katie Thurstin and Lowell McNicholas.

Fans can follow the Iowa rowing program on social media via Instagram (@iowa_rowing) and Facebook (iowawomensrowing) with live updates on Twitter (@iowarowing).