4 Hawkeyes Earn Big Ten Honors

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Four University of Iowa field hockey student-athletes – fifth-years Anthe Nijziel and Lokke Stribos and seniors Esme Gibson and Ellie Flynn – earned Big Ten Conference recognition for the 2022 season, it was announced Wednesday by the league office.

Nijziel earned her third career first-team All-Big Ten recognition (and fourth honor overall), while Stribos and Gibson earned second-team honors for the second time in their careers. Flynn was recognized as Iowa’s Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Nijziel is the 12th Hawkeye all-time to earn three or more first-team All-Big Ten honors. Iowa has had at least one first-team All-Big Ten selection in each of the past 12 seasons.

Nijziel has started all 17 games this season, where she is third on the team in goals (6) and points (16). The Eindhoven, Netherlands, native has also anchored an Iowa defense that has posted six shutouts. Nijziel earned two Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week honors during the regular season, and she was the NFHCA Division I Defensive Player of the Week on Nov. 2.

Stribos earned second-team honors for a second straight season after scoring two goals and tallying four assists during the regular season. The Brussels, Belgium, native was also a key member of a Hawkeye defense that surrendered just one goal and three shots per game.

Gibson garnered her second consecutive All-Big Ten nod after scoring three goals and registering four assists as a midfielder. The Worcestershire, England, native scored one game-winning goal and helped the Hawkeyes win five games against ranked foes during the regular season.

Flynn was Iowa’s recipient for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The distinction is presented to student-athletes who display sportsmanship and ethical behavior, are in good academic standing, and demonstrate good citizenship outside of athletics. The Downers Grove, Illinois, native has scored one goal (a game-winner) in 15 games this season.

The fifth-seeded Hawkeyes face No. 4 seed Michigan in a quarterfinal Big Ten Tournament game at 10 a.m. (CT) in Columbus, Ohio. The game will be streamed live on B1G+.