Gilbertson Picks Up Win on Senior Day

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa women’s swimming and diving fell to Illinois 216-137 in its two-day event at the CRWC Natatorium.

The Hawkeyes recognized seniors Kennedy Gilbertson, Aleksandra Olesiak and graduate student Sheridan Schreiber before Saturday’s events began for the program’s senior day.

“I am very proud of our seniors, not only their performances and what they have done to lead this program, but also through many challenges throughout their time here,” said Head Coach Nathan Mundt. “They have been through a lot, but they have persevered. They have given everything that they have to this team, and today was no exception. They continually do what we ask of them and give their best.”

The three combined for a total of 22 individual and relay points for their senior-day performances.

Gilbertson came came away victorious in the 100 back and freshman Scarlet Martin won the 100 fly for Iowa’s individual swimming wins on the day.

The second day of events kicked off with the 200-medley relay, where Gilbertson, Schreiber, Martin, and sophomore Molly Pedersen teamed up to award Iowa with four points in a second-place finish.

Sophomore Makayla Hughbanks scored 348.15 (3-meter) and a career-best 311.55 (1-meter) to sweep the day’s dive events. Junior Sarah Ballard (319.15) and freshman Geneva Pauly (292.95) both tallied career-best scores for respective second- and third-place finishes in the 3-meter dive. Freshman Lainey Woodward scored a career-high 302.85 to place second off the 1-meter springboards, ranking 11th all-time at Iowa.

Iowa had a string of second-place finishes throughout Saturday’s events. Freshman Sabina Kupcova scored four points with her runner-up performance in the 200 free. Martin joined her freshman teammate with a second-place finish in the 200 fly, and Schreiber placed second in the 100 breast. Sophomore Alix O’Brien scored four for the Hawkeyes in the 500 free as well.

The Hawkeyes will be back in the CRWC Natatorium for a Big Ten and SEC clash with Vanderbilt on Jan. 21. Competition begins at 11 a.m. (CT).