Kris Murray Named To Oscar Robertson Late Season Top 15

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior forward Kris Murray has been named to the Oscar Robertson Trophy Late Season Top 15. The announcement was made on Thursday by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. Members of the association’s board of directors chose the players that will be considered as contenders for the National Player of the Year.

Chosen by a poll of national college basketball experts based on their performances during the 2022-23 season thus far, the list comprises of 20 student-athletes who are front-runners for one of the sport’s most prestigious honor.

Murray is also on the Wooden Award Late Season Top 20 and a semifinalist for the Karl Malone Award.

Murray (6-foot-8, 220 pounds) is averaging a team-best 20.5 points and eight rebounds per outing. He is the only Division I player to average 20+ points, 8+ rebounds, and have made 55+ 3-pointers this season.

The Cedar Rapids, Iowa, native has scored 30+ points four times this season, 25+ points nine times, and 20+ points 14 times.

In his most recent performance, Murray totaled 26 points, seven rebounds, three assists, and two blocks while sinking a career-high five 3-pointers in Iowa’s 22-point win at No. 15 Indiana on Tuesday.

The 2023 Oscar Robertson Trophy is to be presented by its namesake at the NCAA Final Four in Houston. A formal presentation will follow at the annual USBWA Awards Luncheon hosted by the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. Former Hawkeye, Luka Garza, was the recipient of the 2021 Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year trophy.

Murray and the Hawkeyes (19-11, 11-8) return to action on Sunday against Nebraska (15-15, 8-11) in Iowa City. The contest is sold out. The game will be televised nationally on Big Ten Network and broadcast on the Hawkeye Radio Network.

Following is the complete Oscar Robertson Trophy Late Season Watch List

• F/C Armando Bacot, North Carolina
• G Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
• G Kendric Davis, Memphis
• C Zach Edey, Purdue
• F Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
• G/F Jaime Jacquez Jr., UCLA
• G Tyler Kolek, Marquette
• F Brandon Miller, Alabama
• F Kris Murray, Iowa
• G Jalen Pickett, Penn State
• G Marcus Sasser, Houston
• F Drew Timme, Gonzaga
• F Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky
• F Azuolas Tubelis, Arizona
• F Jalen Wilson, Kansas