Kris Murray Named To Wooden Award National Ballot

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa men’s basketball junior forward Kris Murray is one of 15 semifinalists for the Wooden Award, which is presented annually to the most outstanding player who achieves tremendous on-court success. The announcement was made on Saturday by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

All balloted players have been certified by their university to meet or exceed the qualifications for the Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden when the Award was established.

Murray is also on the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Late Season Top 15, Naismith Trophy Player of the Year Midseason Team, and a semifinalist for the Karl Malone Award.

Murray (6-foot-8, 220 pounds) is averaging a team-best 20.5 points and eight rebounds per outing. He is the only Division I player to average 20+ points, 8+ rebounds, and have made 55+ 3-pointers this season.

The Cedar Rapids, Iowa, native has scored 30+ points four times this season, 25+ points nine times, and 20+ points 14 times.

In his most recent performance, Murray totaled 26 points, seven rebounds, three assists, and two blocks while sinking a career-high five 3-pointers in Iowa’s 22-point win at No. 15 Indiana on Tuesday.

The Hawkeyes have had a student-athlete named to the National Ballot four straight years and five of the last eight seasons. Kris’ twin brother, Keegan Murray, was a 2022 finalist, Luka Garza was the recipient of the 2021 John R. Wooden Award and was a finalist in 2020, while Jarrod Uthoff was a semifinalist in 2016.

Murray and the Hawkeyes (19-11, 11-8) return to action on Sunday against Nebraska (15-15, 8-11) in Iowa City. The contest is sold out. The game will be televised nationally on Big Ten Network and broadcast on the Hawkeye Radio Network.

Following is the complete Wooden Award National Ballot list

• F/C Armando Bacot, North Carolina
• G Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
• C Zach Edey, Purdue
• F Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
• G/F Jaime Jacquez Jr., UCLA
• Keyontae Johnson, Kansas State
• Mike Miles Jr., TCU
• F Kris Murray, Iowa
• G Jalen Pickett, Penn State
• G Marcus Sasser, Houston
• F Drew Timme, Gonzaga
• F Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky
• F Azuolas Tubelis, Arizona
• F Jalen Wilson, Kansas
• Isaiah Wong, Miami