Kris Murray Named Karl Malone Finalist

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior forward Kris Murray was named a Karl Malone Award finalist, the announcement was made Thursday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Fans can support Murray by participating in Karl Malone Fan Voting starting Friday at The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process.

Murray is joined as a finalist for the Karl Malone Award along with Arizona’s Ąžuolas Tubelis, Gonzaga’s Drew Timme, Indiana’s Trace Jackson-Davis and Providence’s Bryce Hopkins.

Murray’s twin brother, Keegan Murray, was the recipient of the 2022 Karl Malone Award, becoming the first Big Ten player to earn the distinction that recognizes the top power forward in Division I college basketball. Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor is in its ninth year. Former Hawkeye Luka Garza earned the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award back-to-back seasons in 2020 and 2021.

Murray, who earlier this week was tabbed third-team All-America by Sporting News and first-team All-Big Ten, is also a Wooden and Oscar Robertson national player of the year semifinalist.

Murray (6-foot-8, 220 pounds) is averaging a team-best 20.5 points and eight rebounds per outing. He is the only Division I player to average 20+ points, 8+ rebounds, and have made 60+ 3-pointers this season. The Cedar Rapids, Iowa, native has scored 30+ points four times this season, 25+ points nine times, and 20+ points 15 times.

The Selection Committee for the Karl Malone Award is composed of top men’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

Murray and the Hawkeyes (19-12) are in action today at approximately 1:30 p.m. (CT) against Ohio State (14-18) in the second round of the Big Ten Tournament at the United Center in Chicago. The contest will be televised nationally on BTN and broadcast on the Hawkeye Radio Network.