Caitlin Clark Tabbed as a Honda Sport Award Finalist

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Caitlin Clark of the University of Iowa, Aliyah Boston from the University of South Carolina, Indiana University’s Mackenzie Holmes, and Maddy Siegrist from Villanova University are the four finalists for the Class of 2023 Honda Sport Award for Basketball as announced by Chris Voelz, Executive Director of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) today.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for the past 47 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”.  The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2023 Honda Cup which will be presented during the live telecast of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Presented by Honda in downtown L.A., on Monday, June 26, at 9 pm ET/6 PT on CBS Sports Network.

The basketball finalists were selected by a panel of experts and coaches from the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA). The Honda Sport award winner for basketball will be announced later this week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.

Clark, a junior from West Des Moines, Iowa, was named the 2023 Naismith, Wade and Wooden Trophy winner along with the Associated Press and USBWA Ann Drysdale Player of the Year honors. The guard became the first player in Division I women’s basketball history to record more than 1,000 points and 300 assists in the same season.

The CWSA, entering its 47th year, has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for their superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.  Since commencing its partnership in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.4 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs.