3 Hawkeyes Earn NFHCA All-West Region Honors

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Three University of Iowa field hockey student-athletes have been named National Field Hockey Coaches Association All-West Region selections, it was announced Wednesday by the NFHCA.

Senior Esme Gibson and freshman Dionne van Aalsum were were named first-team selections, while senior Sofie Stribos earned second-team honors.

Gibson earned her fourth all-region accolade after scoring two goals and tallying four assists in 19 starts. She was part of a defense that recorded eight shutouts. The midfielder, who started 96 of 98 games in her Hawkeye career, recorded 4,680 career minutes playing a key defensive role the past five seasons.

The Worcestershire, England, native garnered first-team All-Big Ten honors this season and was a second-team All-American in 2022 and a third-team All-American in 2021.

Van Aalsum started all 19 games this season as a true freshman. The Big Ten Freshman of the Year and first-team All-Big Ten selection played a key factor offensively as she led the nation with 28 goals, 62 points, 1.47 goals per game and 3.26 points per game.

The Castricum, Netherlands, native was the first Hawkeye to win Big Ten Freshman of the Year since Katie Birch in 2016 and the sixth Hawkeye overall.

Stribos started all 19 games recording three goals and four assist en route to her first all-region selection. She recorded 908 minutes in 2023 and played 4,558 minutes in her career, recording 14 goals and 11 assists.

The Brussels, Belgium, native joins her sisters Marike Stribos (2012) and Lokke Stribos (2019-22) who also earned all-region honors as Hawkeyes.

Iowa finished the 2023 season with a 13-6 overall record and an NCAA Sweet 16 appearance.