Clark is a Finalist for AAU Sullivan Award

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Senior guard from the University of Iowa, Caitlin Clark, was named a Finalist for the 94th AAU James E. Sullivan Award on Tuesday.

The winner is determined by AAU Sullivan Award Committee, AAU Board of Directors, sports media, and past winners. Clark was named the winner of the 93rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award last year. Former Iowa Wrestler, Spencer Lee, is the only other Hawkeye to win the award in school history (2019).

In addition to athletic excellence, the AAU Sullivan Award aims to recognize the qualities of leadership, citizenship, character, and sportsmanship on and off the field.

Clark owns a career 3,700+ points and she recently became the first Division-I player to record 1,000+ points in back-to-back seasons. A native of West Des Moines, Iowa, Clark is once again a finalist for every major national player of the year award, most recently being named a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award as the nation’s top point guard (an honor she earned the last two seasons) and The Athletic National Player of the Year. Clark leads the nation in assists (8.6 assists per game) and in scoring (32 points per game) after becoming the first player to finish No. 1 in both categories in back-to-back seasons.

Clark was recently tabbed as the Big Ten Player of the Year and is the first player in program history to be named First Team All-Big Ten four times in four years of competition. She has also led the Hawkeyes to three straight Big Ten Championships for the first time in program history.

The one-week voting period to determine the winner opens to the public today at Voting opens to the public today, Tuesday, March 12, and closes at 11:59 p.m. (ET) on Tuesday, March 19. The public can vote once a day for their choice, up until the voting closes. This year’s winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 23 at the historic New York Athletic Club (NYAC) – the birthplace of the AAU. 

The Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) is one of the largest, non-profit, volunteer sports organizations in the country. As a multi-sport organization, the AAU is dedicated exclusively to the promotion and development of amateur sports programs. Founded in 1888 to establish standards and uniformity in sports, the AAU philosophy of “Sports For All, Forever” is now shared by more than 720,000 members and 150,000 volunteers across 45 sports programs and 55 U.S. districts. For more information, visit