Clark Named Naismith NPOY Semifinalist

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Senior guard from the University of Iowa, Caitlin Clark, was named a Semifinalist for the 2024 Naismith Player of the Year Award on Thursday. She won the award a season ago and was a finalist her sophomore year.

The Naismith Player of the Year award is presented annually to the most outstanding men’s and women’s player who achieves tremendous on-court success.

Jersey Mike’s is proud to partner with the Naismith Awards in recognizing the outstanding efforts of collegiate athletes and coaches, rewarding their drive and achievements on the court.

Clark owns a career 3,700+ points and she recently became the first Division-I player to record 1,000+ points in back-to-back seasons. A native of West Des Moines, Iowa, Clark is once again a finalist for every major national player of the year award, most recently being named a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award as the nation’s top point guard (an honor she earned the last two seasons) and The Athletic National Player of the Year. Clark leads the nation in assists (8.6 assists per game) and in scoring (32 points per game) after becoming the first player to finish No. 1 in both categories in back-to-back seasons.

Clark was recently tabbed as the Big Ten Player of the Year and is the first player in program history to be named First Team All-Big Ten four times in four years of competition. She has also led the Hawkeyes to three straight Big Ten Championships for the first time in program history.

Once again, this year fans will have a say in the determining the winner. Starting March 26 fans can visit or on Twitter (@MarchMadnessWBB) and (@naismithtrophy) to cast their ballot for one of the four Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy and Werner Ladder Naismith Coach of the Year finalists. Voting ends at 5 p.m. EDT on April 2 and fans are limited to one vote per day.  The fan vote will account for 5% of the total vote.