University of Iowa Athletics
Athletic Trainer

Brad Floy


Brad Floy is in his ninth season as the University of Iowa men’s basketball athletic trainer.

Since returning to his alma mater, Floy has been on staff of six Hawkeye teams that have qualified for postseason competition, including NCAA Tournaments in four of the last six seasons. Iowa’s 2019-20 squad, which finished the regular season with 20 wins and nationally-ranked, would have competed in the NCAA Tournament if not for the cancellation of the postseason due to the COVID-19 global pandemic.

Iowa is one of just three teams to finish in the upper half of the Big Ten standings at least seven of the last eight seasons (Michigan State and Wisconsin). The Hawkeyes won at least one game in postseason tournaments five of the last seven years, including NCAA Tournament wins over Davidson (2016), Temple (2017), and Cincinnati (2019), and reaching the NIT championship game in 2013.

Prior to being named to this position, Floy served as Assistant Athletic Trainer and Lecturer in the Department of Kinesiology at Fresno State from 2008-12. He was responsible for the care and prevention of injuries as they relate to the Bulldog men’s basketball and tennis programs.

A native of Clear Lake, Iowa, Floy spent the previous six years as a graduate assistant with the Hawkeye men’s basketball team while earning his Bachelor’s of Science and Master’s of Science. He recently earned his Ph. D. in exercise science from Iowa in 2012.

He specializes in lower extremity injuries, bio mechanics and motor control of walking.

During Floy’s tenure, the Hawkeyes achieved excellence at the highest level as regular postseason contenders. In 2006, the Hawkeyes won the Big Ten Tournament championship and earned a number-three seed in the NCAA Tournament. As a No. 10 seed, Iowa also made the NCAA Tournament in 2005, after going to three straight postseason NIT tournaments from 2002-04.

The 40-year-old Floy is married to Erin Floy, who works as a physical therapist.