Hawkeyes Name 2003-04 Award Winners

April 28, 2004


The Iowa women’s swimming team has announced its award winners for the 2003-04 season, along with the captains for next year.

The Strength of Character/Alison Pennington Haddon Memorial Award went to Christie Hooper, a senior from Gallatin, TN. Hooper was a co-captain and led the team in the 200 free. Hooper also swam the second leg of the 800 free relay that placed fifth at the Big Ten Championships, setting a school record with a time of 7:18.90.

Junior Molly Gable was named the recipient of the Hawkeye Award, given to the athlete that exemplifies what it means to be a Hawkeye, in and out of the pool. Gable swam a collegiate best 54.68 in the 100 free at the Big Ten Championships. The Iowa City native had season best times in the 50 free (25.00) and 200 free (1:59.90).

The Most Valuable Swimmer/Diver award went to Jennifer Skolaski, a junior from Madison, WI. Skolaski was an NCAA qualifier for the third straight year and broke her own school record in the 200 back (1:57.51) with a runner-up finish at the Big Ten Championships. Skolaski led the team in the 100, 200, 500, and 1,000 free, the 100 and 200 back, and the 200 IM.

Captains for the 2004-05 season are juniors Katelyn Eustis from Chesterfield, MO, Katie Haeger from Hales Corners, WI, Gable, and Skolaski.