Pair Of Hawkeyes Earn All-Big Ten Honors

May 26, 2004

IOWA CITY – The Big Ten Conference announced today that starting pitcher Nathan Johnson and outfielder Nate Yoho were named to the 2004 all-Big Ten teams.

Johnson, a senior from Oskaloosa, IA, was a named to the first team after being a third team selection a year ago. This season, Johnson was the ace of the Iowa staff, going 6-4 with a 3.36 ERA. The righthander was a workhorse on the hill and logged a conference best 96 1/3 innings with a superb 73/16 strikeout-to-walk ratio. In conference games, Johnson was third in the league with a 2.28 ERA and had five complete games, including one shutout.

Yoho, a junior from Des Moines, IA, was the only Hawkeye to start all 55 games this season. The rightfielder finished the Big Ten season with 31 RBIs, which was second most in league games. On the year, Yoho was second on the team with a .312 batting average and led the team in doubles (15), home runs (4), RBIs (48).

Johnson is the first Hawkeye to be selected to the first team since the 2002 season when Brad Carlson was honored. He is the first pitcher to earn the accolades since Kurt Belgar was honored in 1995.

The Hawkeyes finished the 20-35 overall this season with a 12-20 record in the conference.

First Team 1B – Andy Hunter, Minnesota
2B – Chris Getz, Michigan
SS – Seth Bynum, Indiana
3B – James Moreno, Michigan State#
OF – Travis Gulick, Michigan State
OF – Sam Steidl, Minnesota#
OF – Steve Caravati, Ohio State#
DH – Brandon Roberts, Michigan
C – Chris Robinson, Illinois
P – Nathan Johnson, Iowa
P – Jim Brauer, Michigan*
P – Glen Perkins, Minnesota#
P – J.A. Happ, Northwestern
P – Josh Newman, Ohio State*
RP – Adam White, Michigan State

Second Team
1B – Kyle Bohm, Michigan
2B – Drew Anderson, Ohio State
SS – Mitch Koester, Purdue
3B – Simon Klink, Purdue
OF – Kevin Mahar, Indiana
OF – Nate Yoho, Iowa
OF – Jacob Howell, Ohio State
DH – Mike Mee, Minnesota
C – Jake Elder, Minnesota
P – Paul Hammond, Michigan
P – Bryan Gale, Michigan State
P – Craig Molldrem, Minnesota
P – Sean Stidfole, Penn State
RP – Trae Darby, Purdue

Player of the Year – Steve Caravati, Ohio State
Pitcher of the Year – Glen Perkins, Minnesota
Freshman of the Year – Jacob Howell, Ohio State
Coach of the Year – John Anderson, Minnesota

# Unanimous selection * Additional honorees due to ties

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader