Hawkeyes Open 2004-05 Season

Nov. 15, 2004

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Iowa will open the 2004-05 wrestling season Saturday at the Ryan Kaufman-Glen Brand Open in Omaha, NE. The annual tournament, which featured 500 wrestlers in 2003, will be held in the University of Nebraska-Omaha’s Sapp Fieldhouse. Competition is scheduled to start at 9 a.m. Wrestlers will be competing in either the open or 20-and-under divisions.

Several Hawkeyes competed at the third-annual Spartan Classic at the University of Dubuque last weekend. The Hawkeyes swept the tournament, winning each of the 10 weight classes and recording six runner-up finishes. All of Iowa’s wrestlers competed unattached. Here are the Iowa placewinners:

125 1st – Charlie Falck, 2nd – Lucas Magnani, 3rd – Matt Morkel
133 1st – Mario Galanakis, 6th – Gabe Ruhkala, 7th – Ruben Chavez
141 1st – Alex Tsirtsis, 3rd – Ned Shuck, 5th – Derek Coorough
149 1st – Ty Eustice, 2nd – Alex Grunder, 3rd – Brad Medchill
157 1st – Joe Johnston, 2nd – Oleg Polyatskiy, 3rd – Joe Uker
165 1st – Mark Perry
174 1st – Luke Lofthouse, 2nd – Ben Stedman
184 1st – Paul Bradley
197 1st – Dane Pape, 2nd – Major Ennen
Hwt. 1st – Matt Fields, 2nd – Ryan Fuller

Radio – Morrie Adams and four-time Iowa all-American Mark Ironside will call the action live on AM-800 KXIC. To listen to the broadcast online, go to the wrestling schedule page on www.hawkeyesports.com. Click on the match you want to hear using Real One Player software. Broadcasts are available using the College Sports Pass, which can be purchased for $6.95 per month or $49.95 per year.

Television – Iowa Public Television, in its 29th season of televising college wrestling, will air live telecasts of Iowa’s duals with Iowa State (Dec. 5) and Minnesota (Feb. 11), and a same-day tape-delayed telecast of Iowa’s dual at Northern Iowa (Dec. 9). Announcers will be Tim Johnson, Jim Gibbons and former Iowa Wrestling Coach Dan Gable.

HEAD COACH Jim Zalesky
Jim Zalesky is in his eighth season as head coach at the University of Iowa. He has a school and career record of 106-22 (.828). Named National Coach of the Year in 1998 and 1999, and Big Ten Coach of the Year in 2004 and 2000, he has led the Hawkeyes to three NCAA (1998-00) and three Big Ten titles (1998, 2000, 2004). Zalesky has coached 10 NCAA Champions, 20 Big Ten Champions and 36 all-Americans at Iowa. He was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in June 2004, the University of Iowa Letterman’s Club Hall of Fame and the Iowa High School Athletic Association Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2002, and the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in 1994.

A three-time national champion and one of Iowa’s 15 four-time all-Americans, Zalesky was an assistant coach and head recruiter at Iowa under Dan Gable for seven seasons (1991-97). He was named Assistant Coach of the Year by the N.W.C.A. in 1992 and 1997. Undefeated as a junior and senior, Zalesky ended his career on an 89-match winning streak.

Iowa’s overall dual meet record is 774-197-30 (.788) in 93 seasons. The Hawkeyes have won 20 national titles, including nine of the last 14, and 31 Big Ten titles. Iowa’s 47 NCAA Champions have won a total of 73 NCAA individual titles, crowning six three-time and 13 two-time champions. The Hawkeyes’ 99 Big Ten Champions have won a total of 180 conference individual titles. There have been seven four-time, 18 three-time and 24 two-time Iowa winners. Iowa’s 124 all-Americans have earned all-America status 254 times, including 16 four-time, 27 three-time and 28 two-time honorees.

Carver-Hawkeye Arena has been the home for Iowa wrestling since 1983. The Hawkeyes have a record of 141-10 (.934) in the arena, which includes a record 10 victories during the 1986 season. Iowa has recorded 16 undefeated seasons in the arena, with the most recent (8-0) occurring in 2003. The dual wrestling attendance record for Carver-Hawkeye Arena is 15,291, which was set when Iowa defeated Iowa State on February 22, 1992. The arena seats 15,500 for a dual wrestling meet. The Hawkeyes are scheduled to host the 2005 Big Ten Championships in Carver-Hawkeye.

The Hawkeye wrestling staff of Jim Zalesky, Troy Steiner, Tim Hartung, Cliff Moore and Mike Zadick earned a total of seven NCAA titles, 12 Big Ten titles and 17 all-America honors. Their combined college career wrestling record is 619-88-1 (.875), including four undefeated seasons.

Weekly releases, updated meet results and audio of the dual meets and Big Ten and NCAA Championships can be found at (a s seven home duals and the 2004 Big Ten Championships are on sale at the University of Iowa Athletic Ticket Office.

Season tickets
$49 General Public $42 University Faculty and Staff $20 University of Iowa Students.

*Single-Match Tickets (Purchased in Advance)
$8 Adults $4 Youth *All Iowa State tickets are $10.

*Single-Match Tickets (Purchased at the Door)
$10 Adults $5 Youth *All Iowa State tickets are $10.

Big Ten Championships
$35 All-Session Adult $20 All-Session Youth

The University of Iowa will host the 2005 Big Ten Wrestling Championships March 5-6 in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Contact Traci Wagner at 319/335-9411 or traci-wagner@hawkeyesports.com to request a credential.>