Iowa To Face Six Big Ten Teams

April 18, 2005


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

THIS WEEK The Iowa Men’s Golf team will be heading out to the Kepler Intercollegiate in Columbus, OH, April 23-24. This two-day event will consist of 17 teams, which includes seven Big Ten teams. The Big Ten teams Iowa will compete against Indiana, Penn State, Northwestern, Michigan State, Wisconsin, and host team Ohio State. There will be 18 holes played Saturday and 36 Sunday. The tournament will be held at the Ohio State University Scarlet Golf Course.

LAST TIME OUT Iowa finished the Boilermaker Invitational in eighth place carding a score of 890 (+26). In the 13-team tournament hosted by Purdue University, Iowa was tied with in-state rival Iowa State after the first 36 holes, but ended the tournament four shots behind the Cyclones and fell to eighth place. Jon Feldick (+5) led Iowa individually and ended the tournament tied for 16th. Bennet Hammerberg (+11) and Brian deBuhr (+11) finished the tournament tied for 38th place. Todd Larson (T43, +12) and Dan Holterhaus (T43, +12) also competed for Iowa.

THIS WEEK'S LINEUP -Name              Yr.    Hometown (High School)1.  Todd Larson So. Marion, IA (Linn-Mar)2.  Brian deBuhr   Jr. Urbandale, IA (Urbandale)3.  Jon Feldick So. Coralville, IA (Iowa City West)4/5.    Bennet Hammerberg So. Cedar Rapids, IA (Washington)or  Dan Holterhaus   Fr. Cedar Rapids, IA (Kennedy)or  Andy Tiedt   Jr. Cedar Rapids, IA (Xavier)=""http:>=""http:>=""/roster.aspx?rp_id=2988" class="imported_story_link" oldlink="/sports/m-golf/mtt/miller_luke00.html">Luke        Miller will likely miss his second straight tournament. He missed his first tournament        of the season when he missed the Boilermaker Invitational last week due to a sprained        ankle. Miller currently leads the team in with 73.9 strokes per round average.        

HEAD COACH Terry Anderson — Anderson is in his 12th year as Iowa’s head coach. Anderson was a four-year letterman at Iowa State. He also serves as the Director of Golf at Iowa’s Finkbine Golf Course. He was named the PGA Golf Professional of the Year for the Iowa PGA Section in 1998 and 2004.