Racette Named All-Big Ten

May 5, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


University of Iowa women’s tennis player Meg Racette has been selected to the all-Big Ten team. The announcement was made by the Conference office.

Racette was a unanimous selection. She played No. 1 singles for the Hawkeyes, posting a 13-10 dual record, while going 8-4 in Big Ten play. Racette has also recorded six upsets against ranked opponents. In doubles, Racette has a 12-11 mark at the No. 1 spot. Last year, Racette was named to the all-Big Ten team and chosen as Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Hilary Tyler was also announced as a Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree. This honor is for individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. Tyler is now a candidate for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from Iowa at the end of the school year.

Racette, Tyler and the rest of the Hawkeyes will return to action Friday, May 13 against Notre Dame in the first round of the NCAA Tournament in Evanston, IL.

2005 All-Big Ten Team
Cynthya Goulet, Illinois*
Sarah Batty, Indiana
Meg Racette, Iowa*
Michelle DaCosta, Michigan*
Nischela Reddy, Minnesota
Audra Cohen, Northwestern*
Cristelle Grier, Northwestern*
Alexis Prousis, Northwestern*
Maaria Husain, Penn State
Hala Sufi, Purdue*
Caitlin Burke, Wisconsin
Katie McGaffigan, Wisconsin*

Freshman of the Year
Audra Cohen, Northwestern*

Athlete of the Year
Audra Cohen, Northwestern*

Coach of the Year
Claire Pollard, Northwestern

* Unanimous Selection