Five Hawkeyes Earn Post-Season Awards

Nov. 4, 2005

The University of Iowa field hockey team had five student-athletes earn post-season accolades after the regualr season. The 2005 Field Hockey All-Big Ten Teams and individual award winners were honored at a kick-off banquet for the Big Ten Championships that are being held at Grant Field in Iowa City this weekend.

Junior Heather Schnepf picked up this season’s Defensive Player of the Year award and freshman Caitlin McCurdy was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Schnepf leads the league in defensive saves with five over the course of 17 games. McCurdy is fifth in points per game with 1.65 (28 points, 11 goals and six assists) and is sixth in goals scored per game with 0.65. Schnepf is the fourth Hawkeye to be named Defensive Player of the Year and the first since Mary Casabian garnered defensive laurels in 1996. McCurdy becomes the second Hawkeye standout in Big Ten history to earn Freshman of the Year accolade; Tiffany Leister last collected the honor in 1999.

Schnepf was also unanimous selection to the First All-Big Ten team. The junior midfielder was a Second Team pick in 2004. McCurdy, senior Debbie Birrell, and sophomore Caroline Blaum were all named to the Second All-Big Ten team. Birrell was a Second Team pick last year, as well.

Junior Kara Zappone was the Iowa athlete honored with a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The award celebrates student-athletes who have demonstrated sportsmanship on the field, good citizenship outside of athletic competition and who have a good standing in the classroom. Zappone will be eligible for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award that is given to one male and one female student-athlete from each school at the end of the year.