Hawkeyes In Fourth After Session III

Dec. 30, 2005

EVANSTON, IL — The University of Iowa wrestling team is in fourth place with 77 points after the third session of the 2005 Midlands Championships in Evanston, IL. Defending team champion Illinois still controls the team race with 94.5 points. Three Hawkeyes advanced to Friday night’s championship finals and one is competing for fifth.

Advancing to the finals are senior Joe Johnston (157) and sophomores Mark Perry (174) and Matt Fields (Hwt.). Johnston, the second seed, defeated third seed Brandon Becker of Indiana and will face top-seeded Alex Tirapelle of Illinois. Perry, also a second seed, defeated sixth-seeded Donny Reynolds of Illinois and will challenge top-seeded Jake Herbert of Northwestern. Fields, the fourth seed, beat top-seeded Bode Ogunwole of Harvard to advance to the finals, where he will take on the second-seeded Les Sigman of Nebraska-Omaha. Freshman Daniel Dennis defeated Raymond Dunning 9-1 and top-seeded Kerry Boumans by forfeit but fell to sixth-seeded Erekin Tadzhimetov of Utah Valley State. Dennis will have a rematch with fourth-seeded Andrae Hernandez for fifth place Friday night; he fell to Hernandez 7-4 in the quarterfinals.

Friday night’s final session will include the 1st, 3rd and 5th place matches. Competition is scheduled for 7 p.m. at Welsh-Ryan Arena on the campus of Northwestern University.

TEAM STANDINGS (Top 10 After Semi-Final Round)
1. Illinois 94.5
2. Central Michigan 93.5
3. Michigan State 79.0
4. Iowa 77.0
Northern Illinois 77.0
6. Northern Iowa 71.0
7. Iowa State 68.5
8. Indiana 56.5
9. Cal State Bakersfield 55.0
10. Northwestern 54.5

125 Pounds
Seth Wright (UNI) dec. #4 Lucas Magnani (I), 9-7

133 Pounds
#5 Daniel Dennis (I) maj. dec. Raymond Dunning (ADAMS), 9-1
Dennis (I) dec. Kerry Boumans, Forfeit
#6 Erekin Tadzhimetov (UTVAL) dec. Dennis (I), 7-4

141 Pounds
#8 Dustin Hinschberger (WART) dec. Tsirtsis (I), 8-3

157 Pounds
#2 Joe Johnston (I) dec. Brandon Becker (IU), 8-5

174 Pounds
#2 Mark Perry (I) dec. #6 Donny Reynolds (Ill), 4-2
Keith Gavin (PITT) dec. Ben Stedman (I), 11-4

#4 Matt Fields (I) dec. Bode Ogunwole (HARV), 2-1